The Bughouse Five Story...

BUGHOUSE FIVE was formed in September, 1991 by the members of several of Vancouver's most notorious bands; The Nervous Fellas, The Rocking Edsels and Art Bergman, to name a few. Fronted by the charismatic Butch "Big Boy" Murphy and backed up by the rock solid drumming of Taylor Little, the band quickly earned a name as one of the hardest working, most entertaining rockabilly bands around. Their two early releases on East Side Records, Solid and Dark Days Passing, gave evidence to the strong songwriting and cool musicianship that are Bughouse Five's hallmark to this day.
1996 saw a change in Bughouse Five's line-up as the departing guitarist and upright bass players were replaced by Scott "Sheck" Smith, and Jeremy Holmes respectively. The new members' strong musical presence allowed Bughouse Five to branch out into other muscial stylings including surf, blues, and old fashioned roadhouse rock n roll.
Everything Must Go! featuring the new line-up, includes a killer version of Gene Vincent's "Hold Me, Hug Me, Rock Me", as well as the heavy Smith/Murphy penned "Charlatan Crawl" and even a bluesy ballad "Angel Across the Border". Keep an eye out fot the album's video "The Other One (Kitty)", directed by Marcus Rogers of Coal.
Bughouse Five's newest release, Bull Mercury, is produced by the well known Daryl Neudorf. This album continues in the directions explored on Everything Must Go!. Rock ("Shelf Life"), Rockabilly ("Trouble Baby"), Blues ("Francie Nolan's Blues") and Gospel ("Save a Soul Tonight") songs feature promintently, and the beautiful voices of The B5 Gospel Choir (Janice Dunbar, Robyn Pollack, Barb Wilkins, Anna Bon Bon and Robyn Carrigan) send this album to new heights.

Thanks to Chris Crud for the great photos!